What’s Cooking?: July 3 – 9. Well, maybe.

I realize that I haven’t been on here in a while, but…I’ve resolving that issue.  Now.

For tomorrow, there is no recipe (not really, anyways) for what I’m going to make.  It’s just chicken thighs marinated in teriyaki sauce and then either baked or grilled.  (We’re not sure which yet.  Baking them heats up the house, but Mom isn’t sure that Dad knows how to grill chicken.  Thus the dilemma.)

Monday: Sloppy Joe’s.  There’s a great recipe I found in one of my mom’s cooking books, but I have to find it again.  The recipe is great and it uses bell peppers (I think), which we need to use up.  (And I found a vegetarian Sloppy Joe’s for Russell.)

For Tuesday: Veggie Shepard’s Pie

For Wednesday: Black Bean Lasagna

For Thursday: Garden Vegetable Pizza

The recipe includes a recipe to make your own dough (and we could actually do it.  To my surprise, we have the most obscure ingredient in the recipe – corn muffin mix) but Mom buys good pizza dough at Trader Joe’s so maybe she’ll buy some there.  If not, I can make it (I hope).  I’ll probably make one veggie and one pepperoni (as we still need to use those).

Friday: Rice, corn and cheese casserole.  Easy family recipe.

Saturday: Pasta of some sort.  Maybe one of the bags of tortellini in the fridge.  (And I’ll use the pasta sauce here that I used for the pepperoni pizza.)

I’m going to compile a list of things I need.  I don’t think it’s that much.  But still.  I might have to postpone this list until next week, when my mom goes grocery shopping.

EDIT: I compiled a list of everything we need to buy.  Ready for this?

  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Possibly frozen peas
  • Corn
  • Bell peppers
  • Cottage cheese
Short list.  Six items.  Five of which are vegetables.  Hey, look at that.

Leave a comment